Washtenaw Community College Police Academy Spring 2020 session

May 11- September 11, 2020

Applications are now being accepted!
Entry Requirements

For more information contact:
Sherry Rosier at 734-677-5024 or
Assistant Director Tom Tanner at 734-677-5025

The Washtenaw Community College Police Academy is an open-door institution willing to give all eligible individuals a chance to become a certifiable police officer. The police academy is an adult education environment that requires significant self-discipline and adherence to a strict code of conduct.

In order to qualify for entry, applicants must:

  • Pass the Michigan Commission on Law Enforcement Standards (MCOLES) for employment (check the MCOLES website for further information)
  • Pass both the MCOLES written and physical pre-enrollment tests
  • Pass the MCOLES drug testing standards (administered by the academy)

Applicants must also:

  • Be eligible to receive a degree upon completion of the academy or enter the academy with either a two-or four-year degree
  • Have a 2.0 GPA or better
  • Have a G.E.D. or high school diploma
  • Pass a medical physical examination
  • Pass a psychological examination
  • Pass a drug test
  • Pass a background check

 

WCC – MCOLES Reading and Writing Test Dates for 2020:

Wednesday, October 16, 2019  5:00 pm

Tuesday, November 5, 2019     3:00 pm           Wednesday, November 20, 2019  5:00 pm

Tuesday, December 3, 2019     3:00 pm           Wednesday, December 18, 2019  5:00 pm

Tuesday, January 7, 2020        3:00 pm            Wednesday, January 15, 2020      5:00 pm

Tuesday, February 4, 2020      3:00 pm            Wednesday, February 19, 2020    5:00 pm

Tuesday, March 3, 2020           3:00 pm            Wednesday, March 18, 2020        5:00 pm

Tuesday, April 7, 2020              3:00 pm            Wednesday, April 15, 2020           5:00 pm

Tuesday, May 5, 2020               3:00 pm

WCC – MCOLES Physical Fitness Test Dates for 2020:

Sunday, January 12               8:00 am

Sunday, February 2               8:00 am

Sunday, March 1                    8:00 am

Sunday, April 5                      8:00 am

Sunday, May 3                       8:00 am

 

For more information and instructions on registering for either of these tests, read the directions on the MCOLES website.